jump to navigation

A Prayer for the Coming Year December 28, 2010

Posted by orualundone in Attitude, Prayer, Words.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
Be acceptable in Your sight,
O LORD, my rock and my Redeemer.
Psalm 19:14

This has been on my heart lately as I think about what I want for this upcoming year. My words are often not what they should be. I complain a lot. I gossip. I use sarcasm, sometimes in a way that is not as welcome as I thought it would be. And I tell lies, mostly white ones, usually when I find it socially convenient to do so. And even when there is nothing particularly wrong with my words, they usually aren’t actively honoring to God or praiseful either.

The meditations of my heart are often trivial and unflattering. I spend a lot of time reading or watching useless entertainment, and thus that is what I think about. I don’t spend vast amounts of time plotting evil, and I know not every thought I have needs to be deep and prayerful, but the majority of my thought life is given over to completely worthless subjects.

I want to start regarding my thoughts and words as a much an important part of my Christian walk as my devotional time and church time. Not just my conscious thoughts and words when I’m actively discussing God, praying, or thinking about a sermon but my casual, haphazard speech and my unbidden thoughts. I want to learn to keep a guard on them and ask myself if what I am saying and thinking are pleasing to God. Because thoughts become words and words become actions. If my thoughts are shallow and useless, I become ineffective. And if my thoughts are bitter and resentful, then my actions will shortly follow.

If anyone considers himself religious and yet does not keep a tight rein on his tongue, he deceives himself and his religion is worthless.
James 1:26

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

